The history of the Faculty of Engineering (FoE) can be traced back to the time of the Malawi Polytechnic establishment in 1965. The first Engineering programme offered in 1965 was Diploma in Engineering with some limited measure of specialisation in Civil, Mechanical and Electrical  Engineering. This 3-year programme was strong and comparable to most of the UK ordinary Engineering Diplomas. Apart from the academic requirements, there was a six months mandatory industrial attachment period included in the second year. 

 In 1980, a general six-year engineering degree was introduced as well as a revised diploma programme. Whilst the original diploma had a vocational training component, the latter had none. Vocational training was neither incorporated into the general degree programme. Nevertheless, students were attached to industries during long vacations to second, fourth and fifth years. In 1997 the Polytechnic begun the process of converting to the semester modular system and in order to facilitate this the Faculty of Engineering undertook curriculum review of its programmes.

As part of the College-wide curriculum review programme. FoE has undertaken an extensive curriculum review and programme restructuring process in response to needs of stakeholders. The Bachelor of Science engineering degrees have been transformed into Bachelor of Engineering degrees. Specialisations have been introduced along the traditional engineering routes (Civil, Electrical and Mechanical) in order to enhance specific knowledge, skills and competences.  


To be a Faculty of excellence in teaching, research, consultancy, and community outreach in Engineering and Technology for the sustainable socio-economic development of Malawi, the SADC region and beyond.


To engage in high quality teaching, research  consultancy and information acquisition and dissemination in Engineering and Technology valuable to the society.


There are four departments namely: Civil Engineering; Electrical Engineering; Mechanical Engineering and Mining Engineering. The Faculty of Engineering was offering three undergraduate degrees: BSc in Civil Engineering, BSc in Electrical Engineering; and BSc in Mechanical Engineering. In 2011 the faculty introduced some specializations and now has ten specializations from the three areas as follows;

Civil Engineering

  1. Bachelor of Civil Engineering- Highway
  2. Bachelor of Civil Engineering - Water

  3. Bachelor of Civil Engineering – Structures

Electrical Engineering

  1. Bachelor of Electrical and Electronics Engineering

  2. Bachelor of Electronics and Telecommunications Engineering

  3. Bachelor of Electronics and Computer Engineering 

Mechanical Engineering

  • Bachelor of Mechanical Engineering

  • Bachelor of Industrial Engineering

  • Bachelor of Automobile Engineering

  • Bachelor of Energy Engineering

The faculty has also introduced four more undergraduate engineering programmes in 2015 in the following areas:


         Mining Engineering

         Geological Engineering

         Metallurgy and Mineral Processing

         Biomedical Engineering

The faculty has about 800 degree students in total and currently enrolling 200 students per year for degree programmes.

In collaboration with Rice University, USA, lecturers in Electrical Engineering (Mr Rodwell Bakolo, Mr A Vweza, Mr M. Mafuta) have been involved in the design of phototherapy lights used to treat neonates with jaundice. These lights are now in use in a number of hospitals, including Queen Elizabeth Central Hospital.